Angebote zu "Shore" (31 Treffer)

Kategorien [Filter löschen]

Shops

Cape Cod Shore Whaling: America´s First Whaleme...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

While Nantucket has long enjoyed an illustrious position in America´s whaling history, Cape Cod´s contribution to the industry is relatively unknown, yet it was a Cape Codder who taught the Nantucketers how to hunt whales. In Cape Cod Shore Whaling, authors Duncan Oliver and John Braginton-Smith uncover Cape Cod´s integral role in shaping whalefishery, which began along the Cape´s sandy shores and evolved into the far-flung whaling expeditions that drove Nantucket´s economy into the nineteenth century. Drawing on rare documents never before published, whaling journals and diaries, Oliver and Braginton-Smith recreate a bygone age when men fought one another for rights to the sea. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sally Martin. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/018316/bk_acx0_018316_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Deadly Shore , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 406min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

It´s July 5th, and the Cape Cod roadways are clogged with tourists heading home from the holiday weekend and trying to outrun an approaching potentially catastrophic hurricane. But in the blink of an eye, their lives are thrown into chaos when terrorists bring down the bridges to the Cape. Instantly, a half million terrified people have no way to escape. And when the terrorists threaten to release anthrax on the captive population if their demands aren´t met, fear turns to all-out panic. With time running out, Marcus Baldwin, a private investigator and former CIA operative, and Sara Cross, a disgraced ex-homicide detective, are brought together by a sole clue to the identity of the terrorists. They quickly realize that they may be the only ones with even a chance at stopping the plot before it´s too late. With Hurricane Chad barreling up the coast on a path for a direct hit on Cape Cod, it becomes frighteningly clear to everyone trapped on what has now become an island - one way or another they are probably all going to die. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Greg Hernandez. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/078935/bk_acx0_078935_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
The Body on the Shore: DCI Craig Gillard, Book ...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children´s lives - as well as his own. At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Marston York. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/howe/004919/bk_howe_004919_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
A Romantic Guide to Cape Cod , Hörbuch, Digital...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This book is drawn from our larger guide titled Enchanted Summer: A Romantic Guide to Cape Cod, Nantucket & Martha´s Vineyard. Here, we focus on Cape Cod. Cynthia Mascott, a Cape Cod resident for only four years, manages to cover all the bases. This guide lets you know whether the reservation you´re making is for a bed-and-breakfast with ´´friendly´´ owners (doesn´t that make you think they´re going to be in your face?) or an inclusive resort where you don´t even have to leave to buy souvenirs. The book is divided into sections covering every imaginable town on Cape Cod, as well as the islands of Martha´s Vineyard and Nantucket. There´s even a chapter on Boston, gateway to the Cape. The sections on each town and island are further divided into lodging, eating, and playing. Playing is even further divided into touring, calendars of events, nature, recreation, and more. The sections on lodging are quite extensive; it appears everyone and their mother is running an inn on the Massachusetts shore. Mascott lets us know how many rooms are available and how they´re decorated, if you´ll have to share a bath, what the yard looks like, and what to expect for food. The listings also rank prices, ranging from two-dollar signs for inns and hotels that cost less than $100 a night (not too many of those) to four-dollar signs for $200 and up. The addition of Web and email addresses are helpful, although most places don´t have them. The restaurants also appear to be plentiful, and Mascott has done some yummy research. Many of the listings include specific menu items that are good, but others are as generic as ´´traditional American food´´. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Christine Rogerson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/047067/bk_acx0_047067_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Cape Cod Bay: A History of Salt & Sea , Hörbuch...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

European explorers were captivated by the seemingly endless bounty of natural resources on Cape Cod Bay. One Englishman declared that the codfish were so thick one could walk on their backs. Early settlers quickly learned how to harness the bay´s resources and excelled at shore whaling, shipping and salt making. But as these new industries flourished, the native Wampanoag, who helped the fledgling colony to take root, nearly vanished. Author Theresa Mitchell Barbo´s skillful narrative weaves together the natural and cultural histories of the bay, highlighting some of the region´s diverse milestones- from the drafting of the Mayflower Compact in 1620 to the establishment of the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Plant 350 years later. Cape Cod Bay: A History of Salt & Sea inspires new appreciation for this storied and stunning seascape, and underscores the importance of new efforts to preserve the bay´s unique ecosystem. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Cynthia Wallace. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/023429/bk_acx0_023429_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Edmund Kemper - The True Story of the Co-ed Kil...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

American serial killer Edmund Kemper III stalked co-eds in California at the height of the era of peace and free love, dismembering his victims and tossing their body parts in remote areas around Santa Cruz. As pieces of young women began washing up on shore and turning up alongside rural highways, female residents - especially college students - were decidedly on edge. A lust killer who savored the act of decapitating his victims - and often used their severed heads for sexual pleasure - Kemper´s story is particularly twisted among historical serial killers. Still, the true crime tale of Edmund Kemper is particularly fascinating, because the man many people called ´´a gentle giant´´ was a near genius whose cunning manipulation of others made him particularly depraved and dangerous. This true crime story, a detailed biography of one of the most psychopathic serial killers of our time, shares some insight into the troubled childhood and awkward nature that led the American serial killer to take 10 lives, including those of six pretty co-eds, his paternal grandparents, his calculatingly cruel mother, and his mother´s best friend. Among historical serial killers, Kemper is especially depraved, since he included necrophilia and cannibalism in his gruesome mix of sordid criminal activity. Ultimately, Kemper´s murderous inclinations and urges to kill were satisfied after he bludgeoned to death his mother, a woman he´d hated since he was eight years old, and he turned himself in. But if he hadn´t finally acted on his long-held fantasy to end his mother´s life, he might still be trolling California highways, getting away with murder. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Miles Taylor. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/056183/bk_acx0_056183_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Mad Mouse : John Ceepak, Book 2 , Hörbuch, Digi...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

It´s almost Labor Day, and the end of summer could mean the end of someone´s life in this exciting sequel to Chris Grabenstein´s Tilt-a-Whirl. Young Danny Boyle, the part-time summer cop ´´down the shore´´ in Sea Haven, New Jersey, gets taken on a wild ride when he and his longtime beach buddies become the unwitting targets of a madman´s twisted scheme for revenge. Fortunately, John Ceepak, the cop with a soldier´s unshakable code of honor, stays at Danny´s side to help him negotiate the quick twists and turns that threaten to destroy his life, his friends, and everything about the world he loves. Whipping from the boardwalk to the beach and back again, Mad Mouse keeps zigging and zagging at a breakneck pace, all the way to the surprising finish. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jeff Woodman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/000071/bk_adbl_000071_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Whack-a-Mole : John Ceepak, Book 3 , Hörbuch, D...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

John Ceepak and Danny Boyle return with the hunt for a long-dormant serial killer who might be ready to strike again. An innocent discovery on the beach in Sea Haven pits Ceepak against a killer with a code just as rigid as his own. When the killer targets his next victim, the consequences becomes dire for Ceepak and Boyle. This is a game they must win. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jeff Woodman. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/000070/bk_adbl_000070_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Message in a Bottle, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 185min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A 36-year-old woman recovering from a wrecked marriage stumbles across a half-buried bottle along the shores of Cape Cod. Inside, she finds a love letter from a man to his ´´darling Catherine´´ written only 3 weeks earlier. She decides to take a dramatic leap that will change her life forever. As she boards a plane, her future is uncertain, yet brims with the promise of self-discovery and the possibility of finding the deepest kind of love. The author of the runaway best seller The Notebook brings another moving tale of self-discovery and courage. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kathleen Quinlan, Bruce Boxleitner. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/time/000117/bk_time_000117_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.06.2019
Zum Angebot